Chair of Power Electronics

Former Staff Members

Dr.-Ing. Alfons Klönne

Dr.-Ing. André Knop

Dr.-Ing. Berthold Benkendorff

Dr.-Ing. Björn Wittig

Dr.-Ing. Christian Wessels

Dipl.-Ing. Fabian Gebhardt

Dipl.-Wirtsch.-Ing. Jan Reese

Dipl.-Ing. Jens Boll

Dr.-Ing. Jens Schröder

Dr.-Ing. Jörg Dannehl

Dr.-Ing. Kai Rothenhagen

Dr.-Ing. Kristina Buchert

M.Eng. Lars Jessen

Dr.-Ing. Malte Mohr

Dr.-Ing. Marinus Petersen

Dipl.-Ing. Markus Haberberger

Dr.-Ing. Martin Helsper

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Böttcher

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Bierhoff

Dr.-Ing. Nils Hoffmann

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Phys. Ole Mühlfeld

Petra Bekendorf

Dr.-Ing. Sandro Günter

Dr.-Ing. Simon Jensen

Dr.-Ing. Stephan Brüske

Dipl.-Ing. Sven Hünemörder

Dr.-Ing. Sönke Grunau

Dr.-Ing. Sönke Thomsen

Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Driller

Prof. Toke Franke

Dipl.-Ing. Vincenz Dinkhauser

Prof. Giampaolo Buticchi

M.Sc. Holger Jedtberg

Dr.-Ing. Torsten Leifert (external lecturers)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Bierhoff (external lecturers)

Assoc. Prof. Chandan Kumar

Dr.-Ing. Levy Costa

Dr.-Ing. Youngjong Ko

M.Sc. Steffen Flacke

Dr.-Ing. Giovanni De Carne

Prof. Zhixiang Zou


  • Our research is focused on the design of high efficient and reliable PWM-based power converter architectures (single-cell, multi-cell, multilevel), their modelling and control to exploit commercial as well as new power semiconductor devices with minimum over design.
    We develop controllers for electric drives and we are particularly skilled in the integration of renewable energy systems into the electric grid.
    Please discover our expertise looking to our recent projects.

    HEART - The Highly Efficient And Reliable smart Transformer
    Further Research Projects